In the Mood for Standards

1 Watermelon Man 2 Bluesette 3 Summertime 4 It’s You or No One 5 A Night in Tunisia 6 Body and Soul 7 It Don't Mean a Thing 8 Puttin’ on the Ritz 9 Nature boy 10 All of Me 11 In the Mood


You have heard them a thousand times. You recognize them every time. Even so, the tunes sound fresh every time a good artist sink their teeth into the material, to present it in their own unique way. Jazz Standards are no mere chartbusters, they are musical diamonds and a priceless materieal to improvise on.

The somewhat prosaic term ”standards” doesn't sound very creative, but who cares. Here comes eleven highly respected Jazz Standards in as many cool special arrangements, presented by Lasse Lindgren in three different Constellations: BIG CONSTELLATIONS, HIP BOP CONSTELLATION and QUARTET CONSTELLATION.

Explosive, poetic. Beautiful and wild in an original mix offering an unusual variation for the active record listener. You have never heard them like this before.

1. Watermelon man. Herbie Hancock 1962. Arr. Christer Olofsson (HBC)
2. Bluesette. Jean ”Toots” Thielemans 1963. Arr Lasse Lindgren. (HBC)
3. Summertime. George Gershwin 1935.  Arr. Mikael Råberg/HBC (HBC)
4. It’s you or no one. Jule Styne 1948. Arr. Daniel Nolgård (BC)
5. A Night in Tunisia. Dizzy Gillespie 1944. Arr. Lasse Lindgren (HBC)
6. Body and Soul. John Green 1930. Arr. Lasse Lindgren (QC)
7. It don.t mean a thing. Duke Ellington.  Arr. Daniel Nolgård (BC)
8. Puttin’ on the Ritz. Irving Berlin 1929.  Arr. Lasse Lindgren (HBC)
9. Nature boy. Eden Ahbez 1948. Arr. Johan Pyykkö (BC)
10. All of Me. Gerald Marks 1931. Arr. Lasse Lindgren( QC)
11. In the Mood. Joseph C. Garland /Andy Razaf. Arr. Leif Halldén (BC)

SAXOPHONES: Jocke Rolandsson alto, Björn Cedergren tenor, Tomas Johnsson tenor, Alberto Pinton baryton

TRUMPETS: Lasse Lindgren, Robin Rydqvist, Ulrik Höglund, Johan Åkerwall

TROMBONES: Jacob Sollerman, Marcus Ahlberg, Anders Hellman

PIANO: Tommy Kotter, Daniel Nolgård, GUITAR: Johan Öijen BASS: Peter Janson

DRUMS/PERCUSSION David Sundby and Göran Kroon


The title of the album ”In The Mood For Standards” makes clear directly what good musical material trumpet Lasse Lindgren has chosen to work with on this new CD, his fifth in his own name.
The range is wide both in regards the choice of tunes and the method of presenting these jewels. Eleven well known standards, three different Constellations and trumpet playing of world class. Lasse Lindgren Big Constellation offers a unique big band power, energy and collossal swing with its two drummers
and a never-flagging rhythmic intensity and audacious original arrangements from the opener ”Watermelon Man” to the final ”In The Mood” via ”Nature Boy” and ”It Don’t Mean A Thing”. It is the first time we can hear Lasse’s own big band on CD.
Lasse’s Quartet Constellation presents the pearls ”Bluesette”, ”All of Me” and ”Body and Soul”. Here Lasse shows how warm and beautiful a flugelhorn can sound, specially when it is backed up by such eminent musicians as Tommy Kotter, piano. Peter Janson, bass and David Sundby, drums. Hip Bop Constellation is the name of Lasse’s most original and unusual band. An electrified septet most known for their own material from, amongst others, the CD ”Walkin’ Around”. It is seldom that one can hear more hip jazz with its roots in bebop than this. Vital, powerful big city jazz with electric energy but also with a streak of Nordic melancholy. Listen to ”Night in Tunisia”, ”Summertime” and ”Puttin’ on the Ritz”. You have never heard them like this before. Even if it is a unique trumpet voice that dominates this album, there are many fine soloists who can express themselves and the ensemble playing is explosive, beautiful and wild in an original mixture. An unusual variation for active CD listeners. 

Praise from the Critics

”A tour de force - a self-evident acquisition…. … It's fresh, brazen, beautiful, witty”
Johnny Olsson NWT

”…Lasse Lindgren is setting the bar with his trumpet. Not least Summertime is magnificent, creating goose bumps….Here plays the daredevils who master the craft.”
Lennart Götesson, Dalademokraten



Recorded year: 2006

Recorded at: Bohusstudios

Released: 2009-10-01

Producer: Lasse Lindgren

Mixing: Åke Linton